Dean Demerritt Performs at The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame

Tulsa Jazz

Dean DemerrittWeb

 DEAN DEMERRITT PUTS ON HIS BASS FACE FOR SUNDAY’S JAZZ DEPOT SHOW

First of all, here’s the reason for the unusual name of the Sunday concert featuring veteran bassist Dean DeMerritt and his group of equally top-notch jazz players:

“I’m calling it Bass Face, because I met a great bass player out of Detroit, Ray McMurtry, in Atlanta one time, and he asked me to sit in,” explains DeMerritt. “I was kind of nervous, because he was a great musician. So after I got done playing with him, I asked him what he thought about my playing. And what he said to me was, `I’ve finally met someone who makes uglier faces than I dowhenI play.’” He laughs. “So, you know what? I’ll take that.”

Until about a month ago, DeMerritt was living and performing in the city where he metMcMurtry, having moved to Atlanta in 1996. If…

View original post 740 more words

Leave a Reply

